Today is Fri, Sep 03, 2010 About Us | Advertise | Link to Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | RSS Feed
OFW Guide - The Filipino's guide to working and living overseas

Receive updates on how to work abroad
OFW Pulse
Q: What do you think about the deployment ban in Iraq?
 It should be lifted because there are job opportunities for OFWs there.
 The ban is necessary for the protection of OFWs.
 I don't care about this issue.

  
Previous Polls
AdCorner.ph: Post Free Ads Now, Buy and Sell Online, Products and Services, Business Listing, Services and Events
  Search OFWGuide   
 
 
OFW Advisory

Beware of Fake Recruiters on the Net

Jun 1, 2009

The Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA) issued an advisory against fake recruiters that targets aspiring overseas Filipino workers (OFWs).

 

Swindlers posing as legitimate recruiters on the net usually offer fake jobs for United Kingdom. The scammers are able to victimize workers by sending a bogus job offer via email. To process work permit and travel documents, they demand immediate payment. After the unsuspecting victim sends the payment, the email sender stops communicating, leaving the worker stunned with the lost money and realization that they have just been scammed. ]

 

According to the Philippine Embassy in London, a number of Filipino workers have been victimized by a certain Global Logistics and Trading Shipping Co., Ltd. which turned out to be an unlicensed UK company.

To avoid being victimized, always check the job orders with POEA first and do not send money right away. Also, always be cautious of offers that are too good to be true

 

Would you like to use this article in your e-zine, blog or website? You may do so as long as you acknowledge OFWGuide.com as the source. Please  inform us beforehand of your intention to republish the articles and provide the url address where the article will appear by dropping us a line at editor@ofwguide.com
Reader Comments
 I would liken to know if anyone here knows the Shiv Sans Company or Nurses2Australia? They are offering bridging program but you have to pay for the registration first. Their company is based in UK but they have office in Australia. - Ana

 I applied Caregiver in the website of csregiver.net.ph...the employers wants me to paid 100 pounds for the processing of my visa they give me an agency which is skylordtravel and global travel agency.i just want to know if its licensed agency in UK - Julie Anne

 about a year that i apply as a medical worker paticularly caregiver/nursing but until i cant login and i dont know if the website is working or still the website of the kopong kopong.im very low in cash coz i spend my time in your website without any good results.... - Maria Christina Tajon

 hi lisa. We would like to inform you that WorkAbroad only advertises job openings from POEA licensed agencies, we do not have direct contact with employers abroad. You maybe dealing with the external links or advertisement by Google posted in our website. We cannot guaranty the credibility of external links posted in website since they are not under the governance of the POEA. This external links are not under our administration since it is automatically posted by Google.

Please verify the company through the embassy where the company is the located. - Workabroad

 I would like to know about what I get in www.workabroad.com.ph. That he needs a nanny in london I would like to ask if this true or not bec he asking me to pay 20% of my visa,And he gave me the agency named Agency Central Ltd.London United Kingdom.Please help me if this is true or scam - Lisa

Page 1 of 1: