Today is Fri, Sep 03, 2010 About Us | Advertise | Link to Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | RSS Feed
OFW Guide - The Filipino's guide to working and living overseas

Receive updates on how to work abroad
OFW Pulse
Q: What do you think about the deployment ban in Iraq?
 It should be lifted because there are job opportunities for OFWs there.
 The ban is necessary for the protection of OFWs.
 I don't care about this issue.

  
Previous Polls
AdCorner.ph: Post Free Ads Now, Buy and Sell Online, Products and Services, Business Listing, Services and Events
  Search OFWGuide   
 
 
Scam Alert

Job scams in the internet

- POEA,
Nov 2, 2008

OFWs beware! The Philippine Overseas Employment Administration received reports of Filipino workers victimized by the following employment scams in the internet:

 

Reserve Petroleum Nederland BV (www.reservpetroleum-ol.com)

  • Copied the website of a legitimate maritime contracting company, and posts fake offers for jobs in dredging and marine projects in Europe
  • Asks applicants to pay fees for visa or work/residence permit, additional fees to cover registration of documents
  • Targets OFWs in the Middle East

Western Nursing & Day Care Services Ltd. (wns.ltd.tripod.com/index.html)

  • Offers caregiving jobs in Canada
  • Applicants to pay visa fee and medical insurance
  • Uses free e]mail and website hosting services

First Global Manpower (firstglobal.manpowerrecruitment@yahoo.fr)

  • Offers jobs as fish packers, garden workers and office cleaners in Ecuador, USA,
  • Canada and Turkey
  • Lists office address in Ivory Coast
  • Uses e-mail in recruitment (The POEA Administrator actually received such e-mail)
  • Charges service fees for processing of visa
Would you like to use this article in your e-zine, blog or website? You may do so as long as you acknowledge OFWGuide.com as the source. Please  inform us beforehand of your intention to republish the articles and provide the url address where the article will appear by dropping us a line at editor@ofwguide.com
Reader Comments
 NAKA RECIEVED NA RIN PO AKO NG DALAWANG MAG KASING TULAD NA JOR REQUEST NA URGENT DAW. ISA SA UK AT ISANG NANNI DRIVER SA US. I KNOW THIS IS SCAM. BECAUSE THEY ASK THE MONEY. - Arman Cabillo

 Naku.Ako din muntik na.Sa London daw siya at need for Male Nanny for his 6mos old son. siya din shoulder ng lahat pwera tramet permit fee ako and it cost 395Pound.Kamuntik ko na masanla lupa ko ha.ha.ha.tnx sa inyo kasi na-icheck ko din niya yahoo for curiosity. - Jeric Aguilar

 Muntik na rin akong maloko sa scam ni STEVEN janiszewski, beware lahat ng mga applicants,try to research first, kasi yung contract ko na pinadala sakin, hinanap ko sa internet ung Crown Court na nakapirma si Mr. Roderick Stevens - judge for oaths, wala rin sa listing ng mga legal courts sa UK kaya nag doubt ako. Yang travelocity lalong kinutuban ako kasi nanghihingi ng 500 pounds e pwede namang ikaw mismo ang mag process sa British Embassy kasi nag research na ko. E application process is 17k lang sa caregiver na work, kaya ingat kayo. Wag na wag basta mag bibitaw ng pera! I-try nyong i search sa facebook nakita ko ung family nya dun kung totoo man sila. Pwede ba natin silang ireklamo sa british embassy para wala na silang mabiktima. - Jane

 scam pala ito... omg parang totoo talaga! muntik n ko dun ah... nagsend pa xa saken ng pix ng mga bata tas pix ng mag-asawa ba un? pate un letter of appointment certificate... hay hirap nmn d2 sa net ang dame manloloko... panu nmn un mga serious na naghahanap ng trabaho... nakakapanghina nmn yan... akala ko pa nmn makakapunta na ko ng london... pero may duda talaga ako dito eh xe un employer mismo nag-email eh dapat agency dbah... tas agency d2 sa pinas... hanap ko nga address d2 sa pinas eh kaya search ko na lang un email na sinabe nia kaya eto nabasa ko ung mga comments... parehong-pareho dun sa mga nasend sa ken na email... kakainis nmn... kaya yan d ko na itutuloy un pag-apply ko dito... buti na lang talaga nag-check ako kundi baka naloko na ko... patay ako sa nanay ko! laking pera kaya ng hinihingi nila.... sus! - Vivian Bautista

 hi mabuti nalang at nacheck ko ng maigi ung offer sa akin ni steven janiszewski papuntang uk.. scam lang pala un.. muntik na rin akong nabiktima.. thanks sa ofw guide dahil kung hindi d2, baka na victim na rin ako ni steven janiszewski. grabe! ang galing nilang manloko! akala ko totoo na! - Grace

 THIS IS A SCAM:

Everyone here discussing the employment, if someone is asking for you to pay up front for anything it is a scam. Try googling up the agency or person you are supposed to look for and have their actual address and phone number. A quick review with no answers will let you know it's a scam, or a consulate for that country will immediately be able to tell you if it is legitimate or not. Do not waste precious earned money on people who will con you. The truth is countries like England will only hire if it is a service they must claim they cannot get elsewhere. An employer generally will not go out of their way to hire someone w/o papers unless you are exceptionally qualified for something (such as a doctor), they plan to underpay you or they know you personally. Please go through a valid employment agency first before losing your hard earned money to frauds. - Kim

 MGA KABABAYAN. READ THIS PLEASE!!
muntikan na akong madale ng scam ni steven janiszewski. kunwari mag.popost xa ng job hiring sa facebook tapos ibibigay email ad nya. eto basahin nyo....

dated august 9,2010.
This Job is regarded as Family driver and You will have to drive my kids to School By 7;30am and Take me to my
Office. I own a textile Company and it just about 20mins drive to my House and it won't be difficult for you to
coupe with the Me and My staff at work.
Base on the salary the Driver will be paid on 27th of every month and 25th On February . Salaries will be paid
through CASH and the weekly allowances will be paid though cash also. regarding this Job, the Applicant has to
comply with the process of the traveling cos the Nanny is needed urgently.
900pounds per month
100pounds weekly allowance
.
Should the outcome be positive, we would send you an email.
We shall discuss travel arrangements in due course of which I would be of generous
assistance to you.
Terms and condition
1:: You will the Bearer of your Visa application fee
2:: After having your visa with my travel agency I will send you a free plane ticket to come here
3::The Driver will be living in My house and He/she will be having his/her room with Internet and telephone
facilities
4: If you abide by the following terms and conditions . you can send me an email so i can send you an Interview
Questions for your Application

.. pagkatapos binigyan nya ako ng written interview and asks some personal information...

dated august 11, 2010
Driver.
Interview Questions
1) What are your real names?
2) Do you have a Valid Passport?
3) What's your International Passport Number
4) Where do you live and what part of the World are you from?
5) Your Full address
6) Date of Birth
7) How long have you been driving?
8) Can you drive a right hand side car?
9) Have you had a car accident once?
10) What do you consider to be your most important responsibility in this job?
11 Do you have drivers license of your country?
12) Do you have any health related problems that would prevent you from doing this job?

... pagkatapos, kunwari hired ka na. padadalhan ka nya ng contract. pipirmahan mu daw tsaka i.mail mu pabalik sa kanya...

dated august 14,2010.
I attached your working Contract from The High Court of law. You have to sign the certificate and Send a copy to the agency and A copy to me..
Here's the agency email for you to contact for the Visa ad working permit process.
travelocity53@yahoo.co.uk
Get back to me as soon as you email the agency..
Looking forward hearing from You

... pagkatapos ko mag.mail sa travelocity, agency daw nya. dito na ako nakutuban kasi humihingi yung agency ng 500pounds para sa processing fee daw sa documents at iba pa...

690 Bolton Road Swinton,Manchester,M27 8FH
16/08/2010
Dear Sir/ma,
Welcome To Travelocity Ltd
We have already recorded your Personal information for processing of your Visa and Working Permit on our Database. You can make the Payment at the WESTERN UNION Over there on the below address and send us a copy of the receipt from the western union.
here's the information to make the payment.
Name :: Donald Junior Combs
Address:: 690 Bolton Road Swinton,Manchester,M27 8FH
Amount:: 500pounds
Email us the receipt as soon as you make the payment.
Thanks for your co-operation.
Yours Faithfully,
Chief Executive Manager
Travelocity
Tel; +447045739862

... take note, nakapangalan kay Donald Junior Combs yung account sa western union ng agency.
tama si mitos! scam talaga to. si steven at donald ay iisa lamang. mag.ingat tayo sa kanila. - Bobit

 Hi somebody has been emailing me now with a very similar format...he referred me to a very well known agency "Thomas Cook" & the agency wants me to send 200 Pounds sterling as my counterpart payment for the processing of my Visa..

I am already doubting its authenticity...

I'm asking if my friend who works in the UK can pay for me coz it will be more expensive sending the money thru western union...

The travel agency said that i have to pay from my country...

my doubts are rising...

who has the same experience???? - G

 nka post ung fake job hiring nla always sa "ayos dito.com" and may contract pa sila binibigay including free flying ticket daw, free medical allowance and free accommodation for 1yr daw.. pag nag ask na ng money be alert kasi SCAM yan. - Kathy

 beware with
Steven Janiszewski siya rin ung Donald Junior Combs,
fake, swindler yang mga yan - Mitos

Page 1 of 11:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • ...
  • 11
  • Next »